Sight, Sound and Beyond

Sunny and Me

Today would have been Nikki’s 20th birthday. I have been thinking about her a lot today. She was, after all, my first parrot. I remember how much I cried after she passed away last year. I didn’t think I would get over it, but I managed to pull through.

While I still miss and think of Nikki, I am so happy and grateful for my relationship with Sunny. Sunny and I have grown pretty close this last year.

Even after I adopted Sunny, Nikki and I remained very close, but Sunny and I never had as close of a bond. I think it is because we never had that one-on-one time like Nikki and I did when I first adopted her as a baby.

Now it’s just Sunny and me; she is my little ray of sunshine on a cloudy day. Our relationship has been great. Sunny loves to help me with whatever I do, even if it is just going through the mail. She loves music and loves to sing along with me at the piano. She also loves to dance and is a much better dancer than I am.

Sunny celebrated her 20th birthday on March 23rd, and it truly was a special day. We had a countdown on Facebook, and people from all over the bird community sent her their warmest wishes. She was one spoiled, happy birdy. She got presents, and that evening, she and I had a little dance party.

Last year, I was concerned with how Sunny would deal with the loss of her best friend and little sister, but the two of us leaned on each other during the grieving process.  Sunny, who was normally very nervous and shy, began to blossom into a more curious, chatty, and playful individual.  I never felt as close to Sunny as I do today, and I love her more now than I did 19 years ago when I adopted her at 13 months old.  Sunny has shown great resilience and strength with everything she has been through. What a great friend I have in her.

Leave a comment