Sight, Sound and Beyond

The Sea of Galilee

The Sea of Galilee

One of the most memorable experiences I had while visiting Israel was traveling by boat on the Sea of Galilee. On the morning of February 22nd, we left our hotel in Tiberius and went by boat to Ginosar to visit the Mount of the Beatitudes.

The boat ride was not what I expected it to be. I imagined that we would all be sitting in something similar to a row boat, but the boat was a fairly decent size. We were able to walk around on it and at one point we were dancing on it. We all danced to traditional Israeli folk music, and it was a lot of fun. I felt so happy and alive, and I enjoyed learning the Hebrew words to the traditional folk songs. I had always been familiar with the melodies, but never really knew how the words went. There were CDs there for sale, and I purchased the one that featured the folk music.

There is something so wonderful about music and dance. I believe that God expresses Himself through these art forms and that much of the arts are really a conversation between God and us. We speak, He answers, and the dialogue continues. As a musician, I feel fortunate to have this ability. Even if I am not the best of the best, I know the integrity and love is there, and through that, the Lord can work His hand in it.  I attribute my finest works and performances to Him because anything that is good comes from the God.

We are all called to a close relationship with God, and I believe that music is the best way for the Lord and I to communicate and nurture our divine friendship. Music is a language that everyone can understand, and it has the power bring people together. My mother always used to recite a well- known quote. I don’t know who actually said it, but it goes something like this: “Music is the language from heaven, which cannot be spoken in words.” I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

